Legal Support Appointments

Please see our DACA Information page for updated information on the DACA program. 

Through the East Bay Community Law Center (EBCLC), the USP Legal Support Team provides free and confidential consultations and full legal representation on a wide range of immigration matters that are available to current UC Berkeley students.

Clients will be provided with legal information, a general consultation to discuss a pathway to legal status, when possible, and in many cases, full legal representation with regards to their immigration matters. In some cases, students will be referred to other units at EBCLC, and if EBCLC cannot take the case, the students and their family members may be referred to partner organizations in the Bay Area, or other parts of California, if necessary.

All consultations with any USP legal staff are strictly confidential and privileged and all information will be reviewed by licensed attorneys. Students should bring any pertinent immigration paperwork to their appointment so that we can best serve them.

For follow-up on existing cases and to receive guidance on your immigration or legal-related questions, please send an email to usplegal@ebclc.org.

 

COVID-19 UPDATE and General Consultations (updated 02/10/22, but subject to change):

EBCLC is the legal service provider for USP. As one of the largest providers of free legal services in the East Bay and home to eight of Berkeley Law’s community-based clinics, EBCLC places tremendous importance on the health of our staff, students, clients and the public. In an effort to support community well-being, we have closed our offices and have canceled our drop-in appointments and in-person clinics indefinitely.  We are committed to providing responsive legal services in the areas of housing, health, immigration, education, and economic security, and we will continue to do so with the utmost respect for our clients. 

All general consultations will take place by phone or Zoom. Please schedule remote appointments through our online booking system, email us at usplegal@ebclc.org, or contact your caseworker for assistance with a legal matter. Please allow at least 3 business days for staff to get back to you.

Our hours of operation are Monday – Friday from 9am – 5pm. 

Thank you for your cooperation and support.

 

Current Clients of EBCLC

For current clients of EBCLC, please reach out to your caseworker directly regarding any questions or concerns. Pleas allow at least 3 business days for staff to get back to you. 

All EBCLC Immigration staff work with UC Berkeley students but the main staff supporting USP Legal are bolded and in blue:


Abigail Rich, arich@ebclc.org

Janely Mendoza, jmendoza@ebclc.org

Jeanette Muñoz, jmunoz@ebclc.org

Karla Cruz, kcruz@ebclc.org
Kelly Valentine, kvalentine@ebclc.org
Leticia Bautista, lbautista@ebclc.org
Melissa Phatharanavik, mphatharanavik@ebclc.org

Mindy Phillips, mphillips@ebclc.org

Patricia Zermeño, pzermeno@ebclc.org

Ramon Becerra Alcantar, rbecerraalcantar@ebclc.org

Rebecca Romero, rromero@ebclc.org

Theo Cuison, tcuison@ebclc.org

 

DACA UPDATE (as of 2/10/22):

For DACA updates, guidance, and renewal clinics please see our DACA Information page. We strongly advice you schedule an appointment if your DACA is expiring in 6 months.

Please use the this link to schedule an appointment with EBCLC. As of March 12, 2020, all appointments will be held remotely until further notice. 

Last updated on 02/10/2022.